Northern India Chapter’s Members Meet

Date : 13 June 2023

Location : Australian High Commission, New Delhi

The Chamber’s Northern India Chapter organised its Members Meet in New Delhi on 13 June 2023. The session was moderated by Ms. Petula Thomas, CEO, IACC delivered the Opening remarks that also included a video from Tourism Australia and a video on the Chamber’s journey over the last few years, with a tribute to the Australian High Commissioner to India, the Hon. Barry O’Farrell AO. The Keynote address was delivered by H.E. The Hon. Barry O’Farrell AO, Australian High Commission to India who reflected on his recent travel to Australia to participate in the visit of Prime Minister Narendra Modi. He highlighted the major milestones achieved in trade & investment right from the Strategic Partnership between the two countries being elevated to a Comprehensive Strategic Partnership in 2020, to the signing of the Economic Cooperation and Trade Agreement (ECTA) in December 2022 and anticipation for the Comprehensive Economic Cooperation Agreement (CECA) concluding before the end of December 2023. The High Commissioner acknowledged the important role the Indo-Australian Chamber of Commerce and its members play in advocacy and building those commercial partnerships across sectors and Chapters. He appreciated the outstanding work that our CEO Ms. Thomas and team have been delivering consistently. This was followed by a candid conversation by Ambassador Anil Wadhwa, Chairperson, IACC’s Northern India Chapter and the High Commissioner on the Australia-India economic relationship. hey spoke about the opportunities, challenges and practical strategic ways to keep the momentum going and some of the key sectors – defence, space, infrastructure, tech, manufacturing, mining, education and others and how investment should be a priority focus area. The session ended with audience Q&A, which was followed by networking over drinks and canapes.

Thank you to our Annual Sponsors for 2023-’24 Telstra Global Business Services LLP and Tata BlueScope Steel (Platinum), Adyar Ananda Bhavan (Gold), Adani Global Pte, Sheela Group and Tractors & Farm Equipment Limited (Silver).